Working for yourself may sound like a perfect career.

Freelancing means you are the boss – you call the shots. No one can tell you what you can and cannot do. You get to work your own hours on your own projects given to you by your own clients…

Does this sound like paradise to you? If so, you are not alone.

Plenty of people absolutely love freelancing. Everything I listed above makes freelancing sound like the perfect job, right? Here’s the twist, however: I hate freelancing.

Why the hate?

I have to admit, hate is an awfully strong word – especially considering the fact that I have been offering freelance video services for years. Unlike some, though, I stumbled into freelancing. I did not make the intentional decision to work for myself; instead, I simply started offering my services to strangers on social networks. At the time I thought I was making a quick buck or two doing something with which I was skilled. Over time, my projects started piling up, and I fell behind – which leads me to my first issue with freelancing.

Time Management Sucks.

I have worked hard to hone my time management skills, and honestly, I feel I have gotten pretty good at keeping track of my tasks. In fact, I use the task management client Todoist to keep track of my projects, as well as the Pomodoro technique to manage my time (and plenty of coffee to keep myself going, naturally). Running my tasks through Todoist has become somewhat of a ritual at this point; however, I still have to set my own deadlines – something I still am quite bad at doing. Without an employer telling me when I need to have a task completed, I fall behind. Setting your own deadlines (and meeting them) can suck, and I am still far from succeeding in doing so consistently.

Taxes Suck.

It is a well-known fact that everyone pays taxes. In most career fields you have the option of having taxes automatically withdrawn from your paycheck, which is not the case in freelancing. Instead of having an employer keep up with how much you have to pay, you have to keep tabs on your own taxes (something I really struggle with). This may seem like a small gripe to individuals who have a handle on their income, but this is something I strongly dislike about freelancing.

Finding Clients Sucks.

I mentioned in another post I am stuck without a client until April. Working in the wedding industry, I have found nobody seems to want to get married in twenty-degree weather – go figure. I have been reaching out to other outlets to find more work, sadly to no avail. This is my biggest problem with freelancing. Finding work is tough, and sometimes income is scarce. It takes a great deal of discipline to pay the bills between checks, as well as a lot of perseverance to acquire new customers. In a non-freelancing environment, there is less uncertainty as to when the next check will come in the mail.

I know these are small gripes.

I am picking apart freelancing a bit here, but these are the issues I have with this career path. The vast majority of potential freelancers will have little issue overcoming these obstacles. For me, however, I hope to one day secure a more corporate position – somewhere that will provide me with deadlines, do my tax withdrawals, and assure I have clients.

In fact, if any big company is reading this post right now, be sure to check out my contact page. I would love to hear from you.

 

 

